Zum Inhalt springenZur Hauptnavigation springenZur Suche springen
German Language and Culture Short Course

German Language and Culture Short Course @ Schmalkalden University of Applied Sciences (SUAS)

Target Group: Students from all disciplines with an interest in German language and culture

Language of Instruction: German, English (if necessary)

Language Levels: A1 - C1 (according to the European Reference Framework)

Course Length: 2 weeks

Expected Dates: June 19 – 30, 2017

Minimum number of participants: 10 participants per level

Course Description: Language lessons with a focus on communication and cultural studies

Course Content: The course combines intensive German courses, cultural topics and recreational activities, so that course participants can get to know life and culture in Germany. The language courses take place in the mornings and are taught by qualified German teachers. The participants will be placed in courses based on their current language level. Our courses train all language competencies with a special focus on communication skills. During the afternoon modules, participants will learn about cultural topics, enriching their understanding of the culture and history of German-speaking countries. At the end of the course, students will take an exam to test their newly acquired language skills.

ECTS Points: 6 / Credit points (USA, Canada): 3

Recreational Activities:

  • Welcome and Farewell receptions including meals
  • City tour of Schmalkalden
  • Movie night
  • Activities of sport / Bowling
  • Day trip to Eisenach including a visit to Wartburg castle
  • Discovery trip to the experience-mine in Merkers
  • Excursion history and culture to Gotha


* The cost includes: language courses including examinations and certificates, accommodation in a hotel including breakfast and lunches (if applicable) as well as the above-mentioned recreational activities

  • 120.00 euro for Schmalkalden University of Applied Sciences students (excluding accommodation)
  • 300.00 euro for students from partner institutions, who are from countries with low to midsize GNI (see below: categories 2 and 3)
  • 650.00 euro for students from partner institutions, who are from countries with high GNI (see below: category 1)
  • 1000.00 euro for external participants who are at least 18 years of age

Country classification according to GNI

Category 1: Countries with a high GNI of over 23,001 USD

Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bermuda, Canada, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Greece, Hong Kong, Ireland, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Liechtenstein, Luxemburg, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States

Category 2: Countries with a midsize GNI from 2,301 to 23,000 USD

Albania, Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Belarus, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Cameroon, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Egypt, Fiji, Gabon, Georgia, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Libya, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Namibia, Nepal, Nigeria, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Samoa, Serbia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Timor-Leste, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Trinidad and Tobago, Ukraine, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen

Category 3: Countries with low GNI below 2,300 USD

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo (Democratic Republic of), Ethiopia, Eritrea, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Laos, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Myanmar, Mozambique, Nepal, Niger, North Korea, Palestinian Territories (West Bank and Gaza), Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe