Zum Inhalt springenZur Hauptnavigation springenZur Suche springen

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board is new to Thuringian universities, replacing the former board of trustees, and has more authority. Tasks, which traditionally used to be dealt with by the academic senate, are now also partially assigned to the Advisory Board, such as the election of the President. The aim is to incorporate external expertise in the university’s fundamental decisions. Essentially, the Advisory Board will have consulting and supervising functions within the university. The term in office for members of the Advisory Board is four years.


Dr. h.c. Hans-Joachim Bauer, retired President of the Thuringia Oberlandesgericht (higher regional court)

Deputy Chairman

Marina Heller, Chairwoman of the Board of Directors of the Rhön-Rennsteig-Sparkasse (bank)

Other members

  • Prof. Dr. Andrea Klug, President of the OTH Amberg-Weiden
  • Siegbert Lapp, Chairman of the Lapp Holding AG Stuttgart
  • Modesto Pesavento, Managing Director of the E-proPlast GmbH Schmalkalden
  • Peter Heimrich, Administrative Officer of the Schmalkalden-Meiningen district